Released on August 28th, 2021, this album showcases the diverse range of Andrés’ composing abilities with influences stemming from his work on film scores, his background as a classical musician, and his Colombian roots. Doorways is an amalgamation of elements that makeup Andrés as a musician and composer. An eclectic instrumental album, it offers an enticing experience for music lovers. Each piece invites the listener into a unique soundscape before being whisked away through another doorway into an altogether different world.

More than 90 musicians were involved in the making of Doorways and It was recorded in Budapest, Los Angeles, Bogotá and New York with different ensembles ranging from symphony orchestra, chamber ensembles to a rock band.

Doorways is available now on all streaming platforms. Listen here.


Watch the Budapest Scoring Orchestra performing Fantastic Bambuco.

Here’s an interview with composer Christopher Byrum Harris and Andrés Montero about the album Doorways.

Another video from the recording session with the Budapest Scoring Orchestra.

Here’s another wonderful performance by the Budapest Scoring Orchestra playing the music from the short film I scored “Venena Bibas”. This video contains images from the film directed by Sergio Carreño and produced by Andrés Acosta.


Composed and Orchestrated by: Andrés Montero

Producer: Andrés Montero

Release Date: 08/28/2021

Orchestra: Budapest Scoring Orchestra (tracks 1, 2, 7, 8)

Conductor: Péter Illényi (tracks 1, 2, 7, 8)

Session Producer: Bálint Sapszon (tracks 1, 2, 7, 8)

Orchestra Coordinator: Bertalan Veér (tracks 1, 2, 7, 8)

Librarian: Anna Sapszon (tracks 1, 2, 7, 8)

Latin Percussion: Jonathan Gómez (tracks 1, 8)

Ethnic Percussion: Ian Wurfl (track 3)

Drum Set: Antonio Guevara (tracks 4, 6) 

Cello: Armen Ksajikian (track 3)

Flutes: Chang Lu, Rachel Mellis (track 5)

Clarinet: Edgar López (track 6)

Piano: Andrés Montero (tracks 4, 5, 6)

Guitar: Andrés Corredor (tracks 4, 6)

Bass: Nicolas Torres (tracks 4, 6)

Vocals: Carolina Arandia, Adriana Ramirez, Pilar Segura, Manuela Angulo, Juan Camilo Martinez, Malcolm Osorio,  Erwin Barrera, Esteban Santos (tracks 2, 7)

Recording Engineers: Dénes Rédly (tracks 1, 2, 7, 8) Sejo Navajas (track 5), Chase McElhaney (track 3)               Daniel Jimenez Afanador (track 3, 5) Nicolas Torres (tracks 4, 6), Alejandro Veloza (tracks 4, 6)

Mixer Engineers: Adam Schmidt (tracks 1, 2, 7, 8) Nicolas Torres (tracks 4, 5, 6), Andrés Montero (track 3)

Mastering Engineer: Carlos Silva at C1 Mastering. Bogotá, Colombia.

Record Label: Independent

Publisher: Spicy Sounds